MAWESSINE: United FOR and THROUGH Indigenous Art

35 years of artistic creation and resistance

Ondinnok Productions, first French-speaking Indigenous theatre company in Canada, celebrated its 35th anniversary in 2020. To mark this important milestone and to revive the spirit of ancient alliances, Ondinnok is organizing a large gathering on May 1st and May 2nd, 2021: Mawessine: United FOR and THROUGH Indigenous Art (Mawessine means “united” in Wolastoqey, which is this event’s curator Dave Jenniss’s Nation’s language).

This event’s gala will be an opportunity to revisit Ondinnok’s heritage and to create spaces for artists and cultural workers to discuss on the future of Indigenous art. A much needed and significant meeting, indeed.

The gala, performances and discussions will be available as a free webcast starting May 21st, 2021, on Ondinnok’s vimeo page.


We would like to thanks the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, The Canada Council for the Arts, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, Canadian Heritage and l’UQAM for the financial contribution and support.

What inspired this project

In May 2017, Ondinnok led an assessment (in French) of the situation regarding Indigenous arts in Quebec, bringing together about fifty Indigenous artists and representatives of Indigenous arts organizations for talking circles. Following this assessment as well as a series of governmental consultations with participants of the sector, a manifesto, the Manifeste pour l’avancement des arts, des artistes et des organisations artistiques autochtones du Québec (in French), was written and submitted to more than 40 political and artistic institutions, Indigenous and non-Indigenous alike. The current project echoes this assessment and aims to bring us together again to celebrate our accomplishments and discuss current issues.

Thank you!

A big THANK YOU to everyone who contributed to our fundraiser from March 15 to May 2nd, 2021!

Anne-Julie Beaudin
Arielle De Garie
Camil Girard
Catherine Bard-Duchesneau
Catherine Labelle-Léonard
Clayton Windatt
Clément Cazelais
Edith Belanger
Émilie Martz-Kuhn
Geneviève Bélisle
Genevieve Pinault
Gisèle Poirier
Gunther de Villiers
Isabelle Kirouac Massicotte
Jacynthe Ledoux
Jonas Bouchard
Julie-Andrée Marcoux
Kissel Agathe
La Marie Debout
Lise Gratton
Lise Joncas
Lucienne Losier
Marie-Hélène Jeannotte
Marie-Joëlle Corneau
Maxime Lemoyne
Mélanie O’Bomsawin
Mélissa Basora
Nadine Boucher
Nicolas Gendron
Normand Rajotte
Pascale O’Bomsawin
Pier Rodier
Régent Gauvin
Renato Rodriguez-Lefebvre
Sabrina Baran
Soline Asselin
Stefan Ivanov
Suzanne Lafontaine
Suzy Basile
Sylvain Malo
Zack Girard